13 writs filed at SC against House dissolution

21 December 2020, Kathmandu

A total of 13 writs have been filed at the Supreme Court (SC) on Sunday against the dissolution of the House of Representatives by President Bidya Devi Bhandari at the recommendation of the Council of Ministers.

According to Kishor Poudel, the Information Official at the apex court, all the writs related to the dissolution of the Parliament will be heard in the constitutional bench on December 23.

The Bench will conduct hearing on Wednesday and Friday.

The Constitutional Bench consists of five judges, including the Chief Justice.

SC has already got the roster of justices to be chosen for the constitution bench out of which Chief Justice will pick ten names.

According to the Assistant Spokesperson of SC Devendra Dhakal, the roster is ready for the constitutional court.

He informed that Justices Deepak Karki, Mira Khadka, Hari Krishna Karki, Bishwombhar Shrestha, Ishwor Prasad Khatiwada, Ananda Mohan Bhattarai, Anil Sinha, Prakash Singh Raut, and Sapana Malla in the roster.

Provided the case of dissolution of the parliament is directly filed at the apex court, a single bench also can conduct the hearing.

Provided he deems it a constitutional matter, the justice can be sent to the constitutional bench.

Earlier, a single bench of Justice Ananda Mohan Bhattarai had heard the case related to barring Nepal Communist Party Vice-Chairman Bamdev Gautam from working as a lawmaker in the National Assembly.

Justice Bhattarai had then referred the case to the Constitutional Bench and the bench had settled the dispute.

Please Comment
© 2018 Pariwartankhabar.com
Designed by Zookti