38 recommended for appointment in constitutional bodies sworn-in

3 February 2021, Kathmandu

The officials recommended for the appointment in the constitutional bodies by the Constitutional Council have taken the oath of office and secrecy.

Chief Justice Cholendra Shumsher Rana administered the oath of office and secrecy to the officials recommended in five different constitutional bodies in the presence of President Bidya Bhandari at 9 am today.

Likewise, members of the Commissions were sworn in by the respective chairpersons. Out 45 officials recommended, 38 including Chief Commissioner of the Commission for the Investigation of Abuse of Authority (CIAA)  took the oath of office and secrecy, informed Bheshraj Adhikari, the personal secretary of the President.

A provision has it that the President can appoint the recommended officials if the parliamentary hearing cannot take place for 45 days.

A Constitutional Council meeting held on December 15 had recommended as many 38 individuals for the appointment in various constitutional bodies.

The parliamentary hearing could not take place after President Bidya Bhandari dissolved the House of Representatives (HoR) on the recommendation of the Prime Minister on December 20. Currently, the hearing on the writs filed against the HoR dissolution is taking place.

Please Comment
© 2018 Pariwartankhabar.com
Designed by Zookti