Govt recommends Prez to call winter session of Upper House on Jan 1

26 December 2020, Kathmandu

The government has recommended President Bidya Devi Bhandari to summon the winter session of the National Assembly.

A cabinet meeting held following the cabinet expansion and reshuffle on Friday decided to this effect.

According to a minister privy to the meeting, the President has been recommended in writing to summon the winter session of the Upper House on January 1.

The cabinet meeting took place at Baluwatar yesterday after Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli inducted nine new ministers including a state minister into the Cabinet and reshuffled the ministries of incumbent ministers.

Top Bahadur Rayamajhi has been given the responsibility of Energy, Water Resources and Irrigation, Prabhu Sah (Urban Development), Gaurishankar Chaudhary (Labor and Employment), Ganesh Thagunna (General Administration and Federal Affairs), Mani Thapa (Drinking Water and Sanitation), Daba Lama (Youth and Sports), Prem Aale (Forest and Environment), Julie Mahato (Women and Senior Citizens) and Bimala Bishwakarma (Minister of State for Industry).

Before expanding the Cabinet, the prime minister sacked Youth and Sports Minister Jagat Bishwakarma and Minister of State for Industry, Commerce, and Supplies Moti Dugad.

The Prime Minister made appointments to vacant posts after ministers of the Prachanda-Nepal faction resigned after the dissolution of Parliament.

Meanwhile, Minister Hridayesh Tripathi has been given the responsibility of Ministry of Health and Population, Krishna Gopal Shrestha (Education, Science, and Technology), Bhanubhakta Dhakal (Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation), Padma Aryal (Agriculture and Livestock), Shivamaya Tumbahangphe (Land Reforms) and Lilanath Shrestha (Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs).

Minister for Education Giriraj Mani Pokhrel, Minister for Energy Barshaman Pun, Agriculture Minister Ghanashyam Bhusal, Tourism Minister Yogesh Bhattarai, Minister for Forests Shakti Basnet, Minister for Water Supply Bina Magar, and Minister for Labor Rameshwar Ray Yadav had tendered their resignation on Sunday afternoon.

Please Comment
© 2018
Designed by Zookti