National Assembly election Filing of nomination process starts

Kathmandu, Jan 24, 2018

Registration of nomination papers of candidates contesting the National Assembly election have started from 10 am today. The filing of nomination will close at 4 pm. The election to the member of National Assembly is taking place on February 7.

The Election Commission has designated the High Courts at Biratnagar, Janakpur, Lalitpur, Pokhara, Dang, Surkhet, and Doti as the office of the returning officers for the registration of nomination papers by the candidates.

As per the constitution, 56 members at the rate of eight members including three women, one Dalit and one member from the backward area or minority community from each province, would be elected to the 59-member National Assembly while the President will nominate three members at the recommendation of the government.

There are 2056 voters including the chiefs and deputy chiefs of the rural municipalities, the mayors and deputy mayors of municipalities and the members of the Province Assemblies in the National Assembly election.

The Election Commission will allocate the election symbols to the candidates filing their nomination papers today on January 29 after scrutinizing their candidacies. Twenty-one political parties are in the fray for the election.


Please Comment
© 2018
Designed by Zookti