Nepal government announces 14-day quarantine on travelers

12 March 2020, Kathmandu

The Government of Nepal has  enforced 14-day quarantine on all travelers from 8 different countries including Nepali nationals.

The government announces it as the number of COVID-19 cases continues to rise globally.

The countries include China, Iran, Italy, South Korea, Japan, France, Germany and Spain.

The decision of the Ministry of Health comes as the government steps up efforts to prevent cross-border infections. Several countries have introduced such rulings.

Travelers, including Nepalis, coming from these countries will be quarantines for 14 days, the Ministry said on Thursday.

The government has already stopped the on-arrival visas of these countries. Travelers, including Nepali nationals coming from these countries, however, will be given the entry to Nepal once they produce the coronavirus-free certificates to the Nepali authorities at the Tribhuvan International Airport and other entry points.

Meanwhile, Nepalis coming from those countries will be sent to their homes only after spending 14 days in isolation, the Secretary at the Health Ministry Yadav Koirala said at a press conference.

Likewise, the government will launch a tracking system of the tourists through a software coming to Nepal with a valid visa. Authorities will track the activities of all foreigners entering Nepal.

Please Comment
© 2018
Designed by Zookti