No confidence motion against CM Shahi rejected by majority of lawmakers

23 October 2020, Surkhet

The no confidence motion lodged against Chief Minister of Karnali Province Mahendra Bahadur Shahi has been rejected by a majority of lawmakers of his own party.

The no confidence motion filed against Chief Minister Shahi was turned down in line with the decision taken by the meeting of provincial parliamentary party of Nepal Communist Party held on Friday, informed party whip Kurma Raj Shahi.

Held at the chairmanship of Chief Whip Sita Nepali, eighteen lawmakers were present in the meeting.

All the lawmakers have voted against the no confidence motion. In the meeting, there were 11 lawmakers from former CPN (Moist Center), and eight lawmakers from senior Madhav Kumar Nepal.

Eleven lawmakers from Oli faction and former CPN (MC) lawmakers   Dharma Raj Regmi and Pushpa Gharti abstained from the meeting.

Please Comment