Wednesday, September 22nd, 2021

Three ministries to be split to patch up NCP intra-party feud

28 September 2020, Kathmandu

Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli and Nepal Communist Party Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal have reached a deal to split three ministries in a bid to patch up the internal party dispute.

As per the agreement, the Ministry of Industry, Commerce and Supplies will be split into the Ministry of Industry and the Ministry of Commerce and Supplies.

Similarly, the Ministry of Energy, Water Resources and Irrigation will be divided into the Ministry of Energy and the Ministry of Water Resources and Irrigation and the Ministry of Physical Infrastructure and Transport will be divided into the Ministry of Physical Infrastructure and the Ministry of Transport and Railway, according to NCP sources.

With this, the number of ministries will reach 24. The cabinet should not exceed more than 25 members as per the provision of the Constitution of Nepal.

Once the portfolio sharing deal is done among the parties, the agreement on the candidates will be reached, said the sources. Two chairmen Oli and Dahal then will take a final call on the issue by holding a cabinet meeting.

Please Comment
© 2018
Designed by Zookti