Three scientists receive Nobel Prize for black hole breakthrough

7 October 2020, Kathmandu

Three scientists have been awarded the 2020 Nobel Prize in Physics for their contribution to black hole discovery.

Sir Roger Penrose, Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez were announced as this year’s winners amid a news conference held in Stockholm.

The winners will share the prize money of £864,200.

David Haviland, chair of the physics prize committee, said this year’s award “celebrates one of the most exotic objects in the Universe”.

Black holes are regions of space where gravity is so strong that not even light can escape from them.

UK-born mathematical physicist Sir Roger, from the University of Oxford, demonstrated that black holes were an inevitable consequence of Albert’s Einstein’s general theory of relativity.

(With inputs from Agencies)

Please Comment
© 2018
Designed by Zookti